Ghost

Like a ghost I bleed through the moment
Desperate for attention I can’t handle
Momentary whisper, I pull you close
Demanding your undeserved love

Electric, your touch tears me apart
As I struggle to return, watch
From a frosted window, figures blurred
A dance of consequential relapse

Words fall hot from your mouth
Forming molten heaps on the floor
Obscurity becoming the enemy
Mouth agape as I feign understanding

And here I am, putting form before substance
A learned habit

Unable to articulate thoughts longer than a few syllables
Letting the plot fall apart within moments,
Knowing that this isn’t better, this isn’t right.

Leave a Reply

