Ocean

In love with the ocean, doesn’t love me back

Drowning in indifference, lacking any tact

Treading water above, not knowing beneath

Swim giant monsters, luminescent white teeth

Completely powerless to make any change,

Ocean pounds on, forcing my rearrange.

How to soldier on, against this force of nature

Head slips below, need myself a saviour.

A hand! Plunged below the surface

Grasping at my limbs, giving me a purpose.

Spluttering I rise, gasping for some air

Moments from demise, lungs about to tear

Feet touch upon ground, others gather round

I was lost, now found, my hero bends down.

“You shouldn’t swim in the kiddie pool,

You nearly drowned, you stupid fool.”

Leave a Reply

