Reality

Looking past the moon at the darkness 

Between the stars, feeling a sway of silence 

Setting into my bones, eating their way 

Through my defences, missiles of inner

Dark destructions and machinations.

Delusional, I face the deluge, believing 

I am one man who can be strong enough.

Time bends down and tells me I am 

Made of big dreams and little substance.

Flippant arrogance, facing forward I fall,

Away from Reality’s cold bony fingers,

Into tales of grandeur and victory, telling

Myself that this is where I belong, between

Pages of a story that I beautifully orchestrate.

Here I can succeed, can rise above,

With little challenge to what I claim is mine.

Wistful smile upon my lips, sinking into a dream

Where I never will wake to face truth again.

Leave a Reply

